Agitation Free

Agitation Free

GE I Krautrock

Agitation Free are back! The Krautrock legend has been resurrected 50 years after their impressive debut album "Malesch" from 1972. Included are the four original members Lutz “Lüül” Graf-Ulbrich (electric guitar, acoustic guitar, banjo), Michael Hoenig (keyboards, synthesizers, electronic percussion) and Burghard Rausch (drums, electronic percussion) as well as new addition Daniel Cordes (bass, Synthesizer). Also there as guests: Peter Michael Hamel (Santur) and Benjamin Schwenen (lead guitar).

The pioneers of experimental German rock music present their first studio album since 1999 with “Momentum”. They take listeners on an impressive musical journey. Otherworldly sounds, pulsating rhythms, grandiose guitar riffs, hypnotic sequencers and driving bass create an astonishing, cinematic soundscape - almost like a time machine connecting past and future. “Momentum” is an exciting album from Agitation Free. It shows that they are still one of the most innovative bands in the German music scene.


From 1967 to 1974, Agitation Free was one of the most innovative German Krautrock bands with an international reputation. They combined improvised instrumental rock, classical avant-garde and elements of “world music” before that word became a household word. In 1972 they were the first rock band to tour Egypt, Lebanon, Cyprus and Greece and were part of the cultural program for the Olympic Games in Munich. They originally released two albums: the classic “Malesch” (1972), inspired by their oriental travels, and “2nd” (1973), which was much more jazzy, rock and electronic.

After the band stopped touring and some members began their solo careers, the following years resulted in several CD releases of material that at the time initially seemed too adventurous or too "off" for commercial release. Four more CDs with restored live and studio recordings were released over the following years. These include the energetic live recordings from France and Cologne: the very experimental Looping IV on “Last” (1976) and the more relaxed “River Of Return” (1999). In 2011, “Shibuya Nights” was released, a spectacular live recording of three concerts in Tokyo from 2007, which perfectly captures the spirit of this band's early years.

Line up:
Michael Hoenig: synthesizers, keyboards
Lutz Graf-Ulbrich: electric guitar
Burghard Rausch: drums
Daniel Cordes: electric bass
Axel Heilhecker: electric guitar

Band information

Tour dates:
Follow soon

Booking: All year round and worldwide



Header photo from left Daniel Cordes, Michael Hoenig, Burghard Rausch, Axel Heilhecker, Lutz Graf-Ulbrich. Credits: Jim Rocket
Back to blog