ON STAGE records GmbH

Still Eighteen, CD

Still Eighteen, CD

Regular price $22.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $22.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

CAN | Power glam rock

When family bands are mentioned, the first thing that comes to mind in Germany is the Kelly Family. However, Canadians Joey, Karen and Samantha Ciotti are a completely different story musically. On their debut album, the three of them present mostly straightforward rock songs in which Joey and daughter Samantha alternate on lead vocals, while Joey's wife Karen provides backing vocals. The very first song "Diamonds And Gold" starts with hard rocking guitar riffs from Joey, while Karen Ciotti on drums and daughter Samantha on bass lay down a hard rock rhythm. "You Hit Me Like A Drug" takes you stylistically in the direction of old AC-DC songs - the family literally lets it rip. The rocking, no-frills tracks fuse glam rock, hard rock, grunge and independent and, like most of the songs, deal with current social issues.

However, the three Canadians, who now live in the Dominican Republic, can also strike a calmer note. The slightly folky songs "Bullets And Dust" and "I'm Finding It Hard To Believe In Something", which can be stylistically categorized as independent music, are particularly worthy of mention here. Fans of the Pixies but also the Waterboys will find favor here. Still Eighteen's strong and diverse first album is rounded off with the dreamy, slightly balladic "Just Hang On", where Joey puts aside his guitar as the main instrument and accompanies the song on keyboards.

Still Eighteen's debut album is a work that will leave you wanting more. Anyone who likes straightforward hard rock with a pinch of independent and grunge or garage rock will enjoy the songs and should not miss one of the upcoming concerts.

Joey Ciotti - guitar, piano, vocals
Karen Ciotti - drums, background vocals
Samantha Ciotti - bass guitar, vocals

Track list:
01. Diamonds And Gold
02. You Hit Me Like A Drug
03. Pretty Thing
04. Keep Rocking
05. Bullets And Dust
06. Piazza Cavour
07. A Room Without A Door
08. We Need To Make A Change
09. The Revolution
10. The Sun
11. Carnivores
12. I'm Finding It Hard To Believe In Something
13. Just Hang On

View full details

ON STAGE records GmbH

Still Eighteen, CD

Still Eighteen, CD

Normaler Preis $22.00 USD
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis $22.00 USD
Sale Ausverkauft
inkl. MwSt. Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

CAN | Power-Glam-Rock

Wenn von Family Bands die Rede ist, fällt einem in Deutschland als erstes die Kelly Family ein. Die Kanadier Joey, Karen und Samantha Ciotti sind musikalisch aber eine ganz andere Nummer. Auf ihrem Debutalbum präsentieren die Drei zum großen Teil gradlinige rockige Nummern, bei denen Joey und Tochter Samantha sich in den Leadvocals abwechseln, während Joeys Frau Karen mit backing Vocals unterstützt. Schon der erste Song "Diamonds And Gold" startet mit harten rockige Gitarren Riffs von Joey, während Karen Ciotti an den Drums und Tochter Samantha am Bass einen Hard Rock Rhythmus vorlegen. "You Hit Me Like A Drug" versetzt einen stilistisch Richtung alter AC-DC Songs - die Familie lässt es sprichwörtlich krachen. Die rockigen, schnörkellosen Stücke lassen Glam Rock, Hard Rock, Grunge und Independent miteinander verschmelzen und befassen sich textlich wie die meisten Songs mit gegenwärtigen gesellschaftlichen Themen.

Allerdings können die drei Kanadier, die mittlerweile in der Dominikanischen Republik leben, auch ruhigere Töne anschlagen. Hier sind insbesondere die leicht folkig angehauchten Songs "Bullets And Dust" und "I´m Finding It Hard To Believe In Something" zu nennen, die stilistisch der so genannten Independent Musik zugeordnet werden können. Hier werden Freunde der Pixies aber auch der Waterboys Gefallen finden. Abgeschlossen wird das starke und vielfältige erste Album von Still Eighteen mit den verträumten leicht balladesken "Just Hang On", wo Joey die Gitarre als prägendes Instrument beiseite legt und den Song an den Keyboards begleitet.

Still Eighteen ist mit dem Debutalbum ein Werk gelungen, was Spaß auf mehr macht. Wer auf gradlinigen härteren Rock, mit einer Prise Independent und Grunge oder Garage Rock steht, wird an den Songs Gefallen finden und sollte sich eines der anstehenden Konzerte nicht entgehen lassen


Besetzung:
Joey Ciotti - guitar, piano, vocals
Karen Ciotti - drums, background vocals
Samantha Ciotti - bass guitar, vocals

Track list:
01. Diamonds And Gold
02. You Hit Me Like A Drug
03. Pretty Thing
04. Keep Rocking
05. Bullets And Dust
06. Piazza Cavour
07. A Room Without A Door
08. We Need To Make A Change
09. The Revolution
10. The Sun
11. Carnivore
12. I´m Finding It Hard To Believe In Something
13. Just Hang On

Vollständige Details anzeigen